; Adobe ColdFusion Workshop - View
                                                                   
   

 Agenda

TimeSession
9:00-9:15am ET;
6:00-6:15am PT
Ice Breaker and Discovery
9:15-10:00am ET;
6:15-7:00am PT
Variables and Datatypes
  • Creating arrays
  • Empty items in arrays
  • Finding items in an array
  • Merging arrays
  • Multi-dimensional arrays
  • Exploring array functions
  • Creating structures
  • Key names in structures
  • Finding items in structures 
  • Merging and copying structures
  • Caching variables
10:00-10:45am ET;
7:00-7:45 PT
Main Adobe ColdFusion Constructs
  • Simple if statement in script syntax
  • Nested ifs
  • The Ternary operator
  • The switch case construct
  • The break keyword in a switch case
  • If statements in switch case
  • Reviewing the for loop
  • Reviewing the while loop and the do-while loops
  • Reviewing the For In loop
  • Looping over lists
  • Looping over arrays
  • Looping over structures
  • Break and continue
10:45-10:50am ET;
7:45-7:50 PT
5-Minute Break
10:50-11:35am ET;
7:50-8:35am PT
Reusing Code
  • Using simple <cfinclude>
  • <cfinclude> and the variables scope
  • Use cases for cfincludes
  • Using cfinclude with functions
  • When cfinclude is not a good idea
  • Custom tags with <cfimport>
  • Opening and closing custom tags
  • Passing attributes to custom tags
  • The request scope
  • Custom tags with <cfmodule>
  • Custom tags with the <cf_> syntax
11:35am-12:00pm ET;
8:35-9:00am PT
Application Framework
  • The main app framework variables
  • Include non .cfm files
  • onApplicationStart() and onSessionStart()
  • Request event handlers
  • onsessionEnd() and onApplicationEnd()
  • Other event handlers
  • Using cfinclude in Application.cfc
12:00-12:30pm ET;
9:00-9:30am PT
Lunch Break
12:30-1:00pm ET;
9:30-10:00am PT
Basic Database Operations
  • Creating a DSN
  • Using CFquery
  • This.datasource in Application.cfc
  • Displaying Query Data
  • Grouping Query output
  • Creating dynamic queries
  • Using Query parameters
  • Query metadata
  • Using queryexecute()
  • Caching queries
  • Queries of queries
  • Using the ValueList() function
  • Other tags for creating queries
1:00-1:30pm ET;
10:00-10:30am PT
Object Oriented Programming in Adobe ColdFusion
  • Creating components
  • Methods in components
  • Creating component instances
  • The constructor method
  • Understanding components, instances, and objects
  • Public and private methods in components
  • Understanding the need for accessors
  • Creating accessors manually
  • Cfproperty and the automatic accessors
  • Overriding the implicit accessors
  • Using the Getter and setter attributes of the <cfproperty> tag
  • Inheritance: the "is a" relationship
  • Using the extends attribute
  • The super keyword
  • Multi-level inheritance
  • Using Abstract components
  • Inheritance best practices
  • Composition, the "has a" relationship
  • Advanced composition
  • Using composition and inheritances in an application
  • Understanding the use of interfaces
  • Basic CRUD operations with CFC
  • Building a search functionality
  • Building a model layer in your application
  • Caching component instances in the application scope
  • Caching in the session scope
1:30-2:00pm ET;
10:30-11:00am PT
An Introduction to Object-Relational Mapping (ORM)
  • Enabling Adobe ColdFusion ORM
  • Building a simple ORM entity
  • Creating and displaying ORM data
  • Updating and deleting ORM entities
  • Creating relationship
  • Managing ORM sessions
2:00-2:30pm ET;
11:00-11:30am PT
Basic Error Handling in Adobe ColdFusion
  • Try Catch
  • Throw and rethrow
  • Using OnError
2:30-2:40pm ET;
11:30-11:40am PT
10-Minute Break
2:40-3:10pm ET;
11:40am-12:10pm PT
Forms
  • Introduction to forms, cfforms, and data validation
  • The URL and the FORM scopes
  • Protecting against CSRF attacks
  • Logging in users in and out
  • Encoding data
  • Using remote CFC methods
  • Uploading files to Adobe ColdFusion
  • Securing file uploads
3:10-3:40pm ET;
12:10-12:40 PT
PDF and Spreadsheet Support in Adobe ColdFusion
  • Using <cfdocument>
  • Creating PDF files from URL
  • Using <cfdocumentitem> and <cfdocumentsection>
  • Saving PDF files with <cfdocument>
  • PDF best practices
  • Using <cfhtmltopdf>
  • Using <cfpdf>
  • DDX support in Adobe ColdFusion
  • Manipulating spreadsheets in Adobe ColdFusion
3:40-4:10pm ET;
12:40-1:10pm PT
Wrap-up and Closing
carahsoft
Abdoulay Diakite
703-673-3647
fb tw li c
By supplying my contact information, I authorize Carahsoft and its vendors and partner community to contact me with personalized communications about their products and services. Please review our Privacy Policy for more details or to opt-out at any time.
 
 
 
© 2021 Carahsoft Technology Corp.
11493 Sunset Hills Road, Suite 100
Reston, Virginia  20190
Unsubscribe
www.carahsoft.com
T: 703.871.8500  |  F: 703.871.8505